How to Save 10 000e

Quoting Tuco a bit: “There are two kinds of a people my friend”. Indeed, the ones with lots of money, and the ones with not that much. Well, I’m the one with not that much. When I started to save up for this trip, I actually had none. For the previous long trip I saved for six months, but because now I’m in the middle of studying, I thought a year would be more convenient.

As I wrote before, 12 000e would be enough for this kind of a trip, but because I got sponsored by ovi.com, I will be ok with “only” 10 000e.

So how to save 10 000e in a year?

Rule #1: WOrk, WoRK, WorK, WORk, woRK, WORK!

Rule #2: Eat cheap. Make a chart where you mark the costs of your food, and try to reach max. 5e/day. Cheap doesn’t mean unhealthy.

Rule#3: Live cheap. The rent must be ridiculously low.

Rule#3: Reduce unnecessary costs. Phone, internet & electricity costs can be reduced a lot.

Rule#4: Get rid of your car & use public transportation only if necessary. Have you heard of a bicycle or hitch-hiking?

Rule#5: There are NO other costs. Cutting your own hair, using library, doing sports, playing an instrument and studying are free of charge.

Rule#6: Don’t smoke or use alcohol. Those are (at least in Finland) the worst money wasting things. Reward yourself now and then with other treats.

Rule#7: Before your trip, sell out everything possible.  I’m sure you can earn at least 1000e by doing it. (no, you don’t need a bed or TV!)

8 Comments

  1. Turo Vuorenpuro
    Posted May 31, 2010 at 3:04 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hi!
    I found your blog via my friend Jukka Salminen and decided to have a look and I liked it!

    Not the least because 1) we both have been cycling the same routes in Turkey & Middle East (I did cycle 8.800 km from Egypt to Finland back in 1994.) and also 2) your choice of bicycle is one of my own options for me when I’ll start my own journey from Finland around this planet 2011. I think that the 14-gear Rohloff hub must be a good choice as so many world cyclists say!

    Anyway would be kind of nice to email or have a chat over the skype if you are up to. All the best for your journey!

    With best regards, Turo

    • Posted June 1, 2010 at 3:06 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Hey! You made the first comment! Hoorraay!
      This blog isn’t fully done yet, but in two weeks it should be. ..
      I must say, that every biker doing any kind of trip is interesting to chat with. Which means it would be nice to exchange emails or skype addresses in the future. Your trip will start when mine is probably over, so perhaps you will be interested in following my blog. I’m not a bike expert yet, but hopefully after this journey I will be able to answer some questions about the gear etc.
      I will be in touch!

      • Turo Vuorenpuro
        Posted June 5, 2010 at 3:27 am | Permalink

        Yes, I’ll keep my eye on your blog time to time. I guess we won’t meet before we hit the road as our target with my girlfriend is to leave in the beginning of May 2011. We’ll cycle via Russia, Kazakhstan, China, Laos, Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia, Australia, New Zealand, USA, Portugal, Spain, France, Belgium, Germany, Denmark, Sweden and arriving to Finland 18+ months later? The plan is to stay on the surface and hopefully not being forced to take any flights but catching boats, ferries and freighters instead when crossing oceans. We are kind of conservative people what comes for doing things… 😉 Turo

      • Posted July 2, 2010 at 12:45 am | Permalink

        Your departure will be before I should arrive. I hope my blog can give you at least one helpful advice, and if not, then maybe a laugh or two.
        That boat thing is something I first thought about, but I think it’s safer to put airplane in my travel plan, because those boats over Pacific are just something very uncertain (time-wise and sea sickness-wise). Some of my flights I may as well try to do on boats, but I’m sure I will be forced to fly at least few times.
        keep in touch!

  2. Posted June 4, 2010 at 12:47 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Lukas,

    Actually I think you’re being overly cautious with your daily food and accommodation spend. I think you could probably get by on half that given that your accomodation costs are pretty much zero. €12,000 I think is easily manageable.

    Anyway, I’m sure we’ll talk about it when we meet up. Have a great month getting ready.

    Erik.

    • Posted July 2, 2010 at 12:41 am | Permalink | Reply

      Well, you may be right as you’ve been in these countries I’m planning to go. Even so, I have realized, that in the “cheap” places you tend to spend more… AND, if I manage to spend only let’s say 7e per day in Asia and Latin America, I will definitely spend more in U.A.E, Australia and Hong Kong… We shall see..:)

  3. Posted July 6, 2010 at 8:23 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Moro Luke ja Pon vojaaz!

    P.S. Rule 6b: Let your friends offer you a huge drunkenness

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

