Etappe 1

 1300km is now behind me. Starting 150km southwest from Frankfurt, not far away from Trier, the goal of the first part of my trip was to reach Prague via veloplus in Wetzikon. My other points to visit were basically just Strasbourg, Neuschwainstein castle and Munich. The only detour I did was to the former concentration camp in Dachau, making just 10km extra pedaling.

Neuschwainstein CastleThis first stage was a good chance to measure my physical and mental conditions and to test the new vsf T-400 Rohloff 14 bicycle with the new gear bought along the way. My feet felt ok the whole way even when pedaling up to 1000m,  though proper bike shoes being on my shopping list here in Czech Republic. The bicycle with it’s praised Rohloff worked so far perfectly. All 14 shifts were used permanently without problems, number one far more often than  number fourteen. The lowest shift wasn’t always as low as my tired legs were hoping for on some steep czech roads, but with better condition and proper shoes I’ll be perhaps satisfied. Southern Germany 2Magura brakes were steady and reliable, Tubus carriers and Ortlieb bags as good as their reputation claims. The only drawback was  when  my front light (BM’s lumotec IQ cyo) suddenly stopped working (luckily in Munich), so I had to get a new identic one against the stadtrad‘s warranty. Some improtant elements I’ve so far appreciated have been: Ergo handle bars, a wing mirror, big bottle cages and an attachable proper lock.

Now I will relax in Czechs for about ten days, planning the next etappe towards Dubai.

ps. My second ovi blog post was published recently, two new pictures are added in my flickr account, and a new feature on the right side bar called “I learned today” should be updated every day via twitter. Do follow!

8 Comments

  1. Elina Korhonen
    Posted July 25, 2010 at 10:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Pozdrav!

    Kiitos mahtavasta iltalukemisesta! Blogi toimii todella… Lähetän täältä paljon voimia seuraavaan etappiin!
    Ja muistahan: “Polkupyörällä olisit vielä matkalla!” Mikä sen ihanampaa?

    Ellu

    • Posted July 28, 2010 at 12:02 am | Permalink | Reply

      Pozdrav zpet! Kiitos lähetyksestä, tuota kommenttia en ole aikaisemmin kuullut 🙂

  2. Oona V.
    Posted July 26, 2010 at 10:14 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hienoa Lukas! Nauti parhaasta Prahasta ja jatka reissua turvallisesti. Mielenkiintoista lukea matkan etenemisestä täältä!

  3. Mikko Kainulainen
    Posted July 27, 2010 at 8:22 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Vahva aloitus! 1,69€ päiväbudjetti näyttää erittäin vakuuttavalta kaaviossa 🙂 Hyvää synttäriä ja matkan jatkoa!

    • Posted July 28, 2010 at 12:04 am | Permalink | Reply

      Kyllä se budjetti saadaan jonain päivänä ihan nollaan asti. Se on vain ajan kysymys. Tattis.

  4. Pasi
    Posted October 23, 2011 at 8:46 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hello,

    There was a whole page article about you in Etelä-Saimaa newspaper today. Interesting. Then I remembered. I met you at Munich railway station last year in July. You told about your plans but I had completely forgotten you. Funny insidence. I plan to do something similar before I die.

    Regards
    Pasi

    • Posted October 23, 2011 at 10:58 pm | Permalink | Reply

      terve terve! This is the funniest coincidence for a long time! I remember Munich very well! I’m just wondering why Etelä-Saimaa published a story about me… maybe it was some collaboration with Kymen Sanomat…
      Don’t hesitate doing a trip before you die, it’s too late after you are dead 🙂
      all best,

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

