Another Beginning

One week has passed. My legs took a siesta for seven days, but eventhough I didn’t proceed any kilometers, my panniers got filled with many interesting new Gear. One of them is MSR Whisperlite Internationale, which was tested this afternoon with package of curry noodles. It’s advisable to check out this site before burning any liquids , ’cause your stove may turn out more black than the chimney itself. Well, I also bought bike shoes to spare my knees, very light sleeping bag to save space and some tools for fixing unwanted problems.

Not that I just bought lots of important (and semi-important) stuff here in Prague (where is by the way really difficult to buy any special trekking bike accessories), I also learned how to fix my bike with a helping hand of bicycle tutor. It is still a fact, that my bike will be re-checked by an expert in center Bohemia, before my journey continues to Brno (my birth place) and finally on 6th of August towards Slovakia and further to Iran.

The visa for Iran wasn’t that easy (and cheap) to get, but here are the steps I took: 1) Checked through Lonely planet forum a proper Travel agency which provides visas to Iran. 2) Filled the agency’s application and paid the fee of 35EUR (10 days before arrival to Prague) 3) Got an approval within 10days, so visited Iranian embassy in Prague 4) Filled forms given by Iranian Embassy and paid the fee of 50EUR 5)Third day picked up my 30day tourist visa from the Iranian Embassy.

Safely around the World continues, with shaved head and beard (I look like 16-year old), all documents copied and scanned and sent to my e-mails, and all of my gear photographed for the insurance company. East Europe, here I Come!!!!

5 Comments

  1. Kevin
    Posted August 1, 2010 at 6:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Nice one Lukas, keep us posted!

  2. Jukka Salminen
    Posted August 2, 2010 at 10:08 am | Permalink | Reply

    Hyvaa maailman matkaa !

  3. Posted September 13, 2010 at 11:32 am | Permalink | Reply

    thanks a lot, lukas,
    once more for your very helpful and informative posts. since i will start with my concrete planning of next year’s asia trip this really is pretty valuable information!
    take care!
    herbert

One Trackback

  1. […] The ferry ride itself was nice, lasting around 40 hours. Passport control in Georgia was smooth, lasting maybe half an hour. And finally, from Georgia you can  continue to Armenia, Turkey or Azerbaijan without problems.  Though if you continue to Iran, it’s advisable to get the visa beforehand. […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

