Greetings from Chisinau

Etappe 2 is soon behind me, only 170km left to Odessa, though notorious Trans-Dniestr is still ahead of me. I’m writing this post in Chisinau afront of Giant store, which is opening it’s doors in one hour. Bicycle has lasted so far without problems,but I’m getting one extra Shimano HG93 chain for the Middle-East – you never know when you’ll find the next bike shop with proper accessories. This means I’ll try to keep switching three chains every 1500km maybe for the first half of my trip. I also have two extra magura brake pads for the mountainish Asia.
But whereas bicycle has lasted really well, it’s definitely the last time I will trust finnish brand Halti, which’s tent (sticks again) fooled me for the last time. For this reason I had to ask my brother to ship me a new MSR Hubba Hubba tent to Tbilisi, Georgia, Where I will hopefully arrive within two weeks, depending on the Ukrainian ferry lines.
All these things have kept me pretty busy, so when two missionaries I met here in Moldova asked me whether I have time to read any books, I honestly replied that I have simply no time. Hopefully this will change when crossing the Black Sea.

The next post, about the second Etappe will be published  from Odessa. A bientot.

2 Comments

  1. Teemu
    Posted August 23, 2010 at 10:16 pm | Permalink | Reply

    If you come in need of hiking equipment in old soviet countries, at least brand normal.ru is of high quality and cheap. I have 2 of their tents and one backpack.

    Greetings from Turku, Helsinki and St.Petersburg.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

