Leaving Yerevan

I’m laying in the greenest park in Yerevan (interestingly called lover’s park), listening to my nokia-music player, eating juicy and cheap grapes and enjoying the free wi-fi access in the perfect 25 degree weather. Does sound a bit lazy to me, and when I check my notes and calculate that I’ve done only 680 km in last 25 days, only Ben Matlock could help me to prove otherwise.

Still, during last weeks in Caucasus, I’ve been able to control my 10e/day budget, and as for my Iranian visa I have still one week to cross the border. Today I checked the opening times of the frontier (should be like the supermarkets here- 24/7 ) and tomorrow, on the Armenian independence day, I’ll finally head for the long and winding road towards Tehran. Firstly I thought this etappe would be very demanding, but when biking from Tbilisi to Yerevan, and passing 2378m on the way , I gained lots of confidence for upcoming 3 km altitudes. The weather after mid September seems to be perfect for traveling in this region, because of warm days and pleasant cool evenings, and also when my new tent seems to be a competent for extreme conditions, I have nothing but good energy shivering in my Löffler pants.

Mt. Ararat glooming from behind

It has been 2,5 months since I squeezed out my first kilometer, and now my meter has almost four thousand of them (one-thousand is by the way the first full number with the letter “a”). When I’ll write my next blog post, probably in Iran, I’ve hopefully broke my kilometer record from my Europe tour, which was 4444 km (easy to remember), and finally be able to say that I’ve biked out of Europe.

8 Comments

  1. Kevin
    Posted September 20, 2010 at 7:47 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Nice one Sir and lovely picture of Mt Aratat. Safe trip across the border! Kevin

    • Posted September 28, 2010 at 7:09 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Check. I’ve got some nice photos, but flickr is abolished here in Iran. Bloody *ell…

  2. Martin Hendriks
    Posted September 21, 2010 at 9:49 am | Permalink | Reply

    “Keep rolling” Lukas. Wishes to you from an old biker.
    Martin

  3. Pasi and Klara
    Posted September 21, 2010 at 3:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

    JeeJee Lukas! Safe trip also from us! Boys send you best wishes and lots of hugs! We are following your riding every week. Take care!

    • Posted September 28, 2010 at 7:07 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Kiiiiiiitttoooss. Samsamille ja Benille Iranilaiset terveiset! Greetings!

  4. Posted September 28, 2010 at 6:54 pm | Permalink | Reply

    wohooooo Lukas!!!!
    when are you coming in Canada with your 2 wheeler?

    issa

    • Posted September 28, 2010 at 7:06 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I hope before it turns to three wheeler. Hehe.
      Hopefully June-July 2011.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

