First Impressions of Iran

My tour de Iran is  about in the half way. I biked much faster than I thought, and not only because of the better roads (80% of the roads are very good), but also because of fortunate back wind, mild uphills and the strong will to proceed onwards. That’s why I’ve broken my km/day record and avg.speed/day record.

My speed-cycling has won actually few free days for sightseeing, one in Tabriz, one in Tehran and here in Esfahan I’ll stay probably two full days. However, there’s no need to stop in big cities to catch Iran. No way. I feel here as if  I was Cat Stevens walking on a sidewalk with a T-Shirt saying “I’m a celebrity”. If  Georgians and Armenians were curious about you, Iranians are crazy about you. Drivers slow down to wave, maybe shout out something like “how are you”, or maybe just to check out your machine. Motor bikers follow you longer time, trying to chat with you, and that’s also in the chaotic city traffic. Everybody who has an engine hunks at you. The ones who don’t drive, invite you for a tea, maybe just try to shake your hand and if they knew some English, they would say something like “it’s honor to meet you”.

Unfortunately most of Iranians don’t speak English, so for a long run all this Youssef Islam-thing begins to annoy you…until  some kind person runs after you to pass you the item you accidentally dropped, offers you some snacks or slows down his vehicle to inform you that the road you are taking will be steep uphill.

It’s approx. 1200km to Dubai, with some historical sights (f.e Persepolis) and few mountains along the way. So more impressions about Iran in two weeks.

4 Comments

  1. Posted October 13, 2010 at 10:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Great! I have got Iran in my plans so I am looking forward hearing more about this country. Good luck on your way!

  2. Posted October 17, 2010 at 2:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hi there

    I’m glad to read you and see that’s eveything is doing fine.
    Good luck for the rest of your trip !

    Romain

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

