Etappe 5,5 – Crossing Tibet

Purple – Bicycle Brown- Jeep/Ford transit  Blue- Train (Hard Seat)  Greenish- Bus

December meant holiday for me. At least for cycling it did. My original plan was to fly from Kathmandu to Hong Kong, and then continue via coast to Vietnam. Then, if enough money and time, before crossing the globe to South America, I would’ve visited Australia for some weeks.

This plan changed, when I learned about Tibet tour, and how easy and inexpensive it was. The flight from Kathmandu, with all bicycle cargo- hassle, would’ve been for the same price as the whole week Tibet tour. So, not knowing what cold China will bring to me, I decided to take the Tibet tour.

About the jeep/van drive you can read from the previous post. About the train ride you can read on the ovi post. All in all, the journey was worth it, and arriving to mainland China, after noisy India and Nepal, was glorious.

I stayed in 5 degrees Chengdu for a week waiting for my parcel from Germany, which held the important Rohloff- parts (rear sprocket, sprocket removal tool, some spokes, and one safety pit lock nut to remove my saddle and front wheel). I waited and waited. I found Ikea in  Chengdu, which brought me the pleasure of Nordic candies and of course meat balls with mashed potatoes. I also found myself in  sauna, McDonalds, Carrefour and Panda base (only to the main gate). Still no sign of the parcel.

After one week, Chinese visa extension knocking on the door, I had to act. So, with lots of inside fighting, I dismantled my bicycle again, argued with the officers at the train station if the bicycle is small enough to fit it as a baggage, sat another 18 hours at the hard seat section (New Year 2011), and arrived to 15 degrees Kunming.

My visa was about to expire in eight days, and I had few options for the future. Continue to Hong Kong, Vietnam, Laos or Thailand. I was sick of traveling with other transportation than my bike, but I had to yield once again for one reason: The optimal flight to South America was departing from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. So in order to catch the flight on February, I decided to shorten my trip by bus to 20 degrees Jing Hong. The bus ride was really comfy and bicycle friendly, though I still had two options from there: Take a fast ferry to Thailand  along the Mekong river for 100$, or cycle to Thailand through Laos. I flipped a coin, and decided to cycle through Laos.

ps. The parcel from Germany hadn’t arrived.

pps. The new picture Turku 2011 blog post is published, some unseen pictures can be viewed there as well

4 Comments

  1. Posted January 10, 2011 at 2:42 pm | Permalink | Reply

    hi lukas,
    what a pity that the parcel, sent on dec 13, didn’t arrive in time or even not at all. i hope chengdu wasn’t too boring though.
    i’m sure you’ll be enjoying summer in south america now.
    take care!
    herbert

  2. Karim
    Posted January 21, 2011 at 2:48 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Proste jsi BOREC! 🙂

  3. Karim
    Posted January 28, 2011 at 11:39 am | Permalink | Reply

    Zni to dobre, ale radeji bych se pridal nekde v Asii nebo v Alasce. Hostil sem jednoho japonce a ten zacal v Alasce. http://picasaweb.google.com/rinrinweb

    Tak stastnou cestu! 🙂

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

