Waiting in Buenos Aires…

So it happened again. The post service (this time DHL) put me on hold with my journey. For the third time (out of three) it seems that I have to leave without the parcel that was sent to me. First in Tbilisi, then Chengdu and now Buenos Aires. I’ll wait for few more days and then hit the road.

From the bright side, my flight from Kuala Lumpur to Buneos Aires went surprisingly well. The weight restriction in Malaysia Airlines was 2 x 23kg, and what do you know… my two boxes (one with bicycle another with four panniers) weighed 22,6kg and 23,2kg. The bike box was this time Sony Bravia 48″, but I had to cut the ends so it would fit the restrictions. Then I just wrapped both boxes, and crossed my fingers.

All went well, except as I was putting my bike together in Buneos Aires, I realized one rear axle nut was missing! I thought this nut is very common size, so I didn’t worry about it. I attached the bike just with the Rohloff axle plate (I have the OEM2 version) and cycled from the Ezeiza airport 35km to the nearest bike shop. The First, second and third bike shops didn’t have the right sizes. Then I was adviced to a hardware store, where they said that my size is ancient English size. Impossible to find in Argentina.

I started to panic. My DHL shipment already left Germany, so I would’ve needed to pay another DHL shipment for a single nut. I contacted all sort of people on my address book and different forums, trying to find out about this mysterious nut size. The next day I went to another bike shop one friend adviced me to go, and what a relief! This expert place found one nut which fit the axle. Now I have to use 15mm and 17mm wrenches to attach the rear wheel, but who cares…?

During my stay in Buenos Aires I have done all the touristy things (ate a steak, danced Tango, visited the football stadium Maradona used to play), and I also visited one Eco-Village 35km from BA. In this village I stayed for four nights, learning about self sufficiency, mostly by reading the book of John Seymour. I also tried to improve my Spanish (didn’t work out), and get rid of the jet lag I got from flying ten hours backwards in the time zone. The third day I was woken up by high water, which covered almost the whole delta for some hours. More about this experience you can soon read on Ovi blog.

The Turku2011 blog is also updated with some nice photos.

ps. Oh yes, it has been now 7 months and 2 days since I left Finland, which means more than half of the time is used. That is, if I return to Finland on September the 6th.

3 Comments

  1. Posted February 10, 2011 at 10:08 am | Permalink | Reply

    hi lukas,
    i think i should have swum across the ocean myself to make sure the parcel reaches you in time. i keep my fingers crossed that you will get the parts nevertheless!
    regards,
    herbert

    • Posted February 10, 2011 at 7:08 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Herbert, if you need some parts on your toue de Asia, I’ll cycle after you to hand them over;)
      Thank you for the help! Let’s hope the last package finds it’s way to my hands….

  2. Posted February 13, 2011 at 3:57 am | Permalink | Reply

    okay, lukas, i’ll count on you! but why don’t you just cycle along anyway. guess we would have lots of fun…

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

