In Uruguay…

Blowing in the wind… sings Bob. I´m glad I can put on my mp3/nokia phone to listen this song when I´m fighting against the winds here in Uruguay. People say it´s surfers heaven, but it´s surely not heaven for cyclists. I mean, if you are not cycling the other way (south, you idiot, SOUTH). The German-Bolivian cyclist , who just finished his Patagonia trip, would argue these winds be mild hand shake… but for me they are knock-out style hits from Cassius Clay. Well, not really, but they are a pain in the… knees.

Etappe 7 started with tremendous celebration, for as the everlasting sprocket reverse act took place in Montevideo. And it was from those long sandy beaches, I did my mightiest attempt to cycle together with another biker. With Kevin (do click the link, so you´ll find out his name) we had almost identical itineraries through South America, so it was logical to start pedaling side by side. And we did for record fullfilling four nights. The pace, however, was something else than Usain Bolt-like. We did together only around 120km 😦  But to compensate the lost miles, we did drink some beer, play beach soccer with local (fair-play) guys, eat more meat than necessary, and awarded ourselves with huge and expensive chocolate bars 🙂 This is why my stats are looking a bit as if I lost my other thirteen speeds in my rohloff. I didn´t. I´m just awing the thousands of kilometres of windy coast. And adjusting to the prices in South America. We ain´t in Asia no more.

¿Where does Etappe 7 lead me? Well, hopefully to Lima, Peru. Though not the way my original travel plan shows… most likely these countries will be exchanged for Chile: BRAZIL, PARAGUAY  and BOLIVIA. How, don´t know yet.

Carneval, Brazil, Here I come!

ps. ovi blog post about Buenos Aires should be out today at some point

5 Comments

  1. Posted February 25, 2011 at 2:38 am | Permalink | Reply

    congrats, lukas,
    you finally made it: changing the rohloff sprocket, even without the tool dispatched twice from germany in vain! enough reason for big celebrations which yet will hopefully not lead to cerebral problems.
    ;-))
    keep on riding – safely!
    herbert

  2. Pasi Varis
    Posted February 27, 2011 at 7:27 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Carneval in Brasil! That`s something what you have to see! Send some pictures of it If you manage to see something “interesting”.
    Boys send you greetings from Finland! By the way.. It is not anymore under -20 celsius here in Finland.
    Pasi. Klara.Benjamin ja Samuel

    • Posted March 2, 2011 at 7:18 am | Permalink | Reply

      tomorrow i will go for a futbol match, on friday the carneval starts. I will polish my lense for you guys. Vatsataudit kuriin!

  3. Pablo
    Posted March 1, 2011 at 5:29 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hi, If you come to Chile, I offer you a place to stay.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

