Machu Picchu

It’s packed again.  This time i didn’t find any empty TV boxes, so my bicycle is put into a box which used to contain a motorcycle. Some cuttings, tapings and voila. Now it’s waiting for tomorrow’s 21-hour bus ride to Lima, after which it needs to take a cab to the airport. We will arrive to the airport probably 24h in advance, but hey: better 24 hours in advance than 24 seconds too late. Besides, I love airports. I think airports are  perfect places for relaxation. They’re like a big shopping mall where you can enjoy the clean toilets, free book reading (as long as you are a potential customer), observe other people and above all,  be cool. Then, if nothing unexpected happens I will leave South America for good. Fingers crossed.

Actually my last week in Peru was great. I found so far the best hostel here in Cuzco, with more comfortable beds than back home. My biking friend Nedo also arrived to this hostel yesterday, so now it’s even more fun to hang around. Not to mention, that I visited Machu Picchu last week with this four days, three nights Jungle Trail.  The original Inca trail was booked few months ahead, though I wouldn’t have afforded it anyways (400-800$). So I booked this alternative trail for 150$ and enjoyed the amazing nature of the surroundings of Machu Picchu as well as the lost city itself. It’s impossible and maybe stupid to post about how great Machu Picchu was. Everyone has to see it by him/herself and judge afterwards. For me it was a breathtaking view. Basta.

I did the trail with five other Canadians, who were willing to take some pics for me too, so now I’m just waiting for my inbox to get some juicy megabites. It was funny to be in one of the most picturesque places in the World without a camera, especially when everybody was hopping around with their Canons, Nikons, Sonys, Olympus’s, Panasonics and maybe even Leicas  to get the magnificent landscape on their memorycards (and later on their facebook accounts?). Of course I wished I had my Nokia too, but in a way I’m already used to see and enjoy things without needing to capture them instantly on my device.

But as much as I’m ok with lost camera, I can’t get over with the lost mp3 player. Listening to music plays a huge part during my travels, and it’s mentally very hard now not to be able to listen to the songs which are just so encouraging at these difficult times. I hope my new phone will arrive to Montreal and I can continue my trip with my friends Bob, Paul&John, Johnny, Bruce, Cat, Bono, Freddie, Paul&Art and others.  

So my dear readers, pack your minds for a new continent. It’s going to be a fun for me, and I think it will be fun for you too. See you in North America!

ps. my last blog post is filled with updated photos thanks to Nedo’s camera. Just scroll down and check’em out!

4 Comments

  1. Marju
    Posted May 31, 2011 at 9:20 am | Permalink | Reply

    Hyvä Lukas!! Toivottavasti saat pian soittimen, joka on täynnä musiikkia! Lähetän täältä yhden raumalaisen tuulenpyörteen matkaasi.

    • Posted June 1, 2011 at 11:19 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Kiitokset. Toivottavasti tuulenpyorre ei iske lentokonetta mereen, vaan puhelimen kateeni. 🙂

  2. Dave Edwards
    Posted June 6, 2011 at 11:27 am | Permalink | Reply

    when I left South America I took a bus to Lima as well, however thats where I had my passport stolen and was stuck in Peru for Christmas! Keep a close eye on your stuff mate!!

    Good luck with the next part of your trip.

    • Posted June 6, 2011 at 7:27 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Yeah. I didn’t have any problems with thefts in South America, but heard lots and LOTS of stories about people getting robbed (credit cards, passports, cars, backpack, bicycles,,,,).

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

