Celebrating in Boston

Ladies and Gentlemen, let me introduce to my new travel companion: Nokia N8!!! Finally I have a camera (12MP!), mp3 player, GPS and of course a phone.

For 37 days (from May 8th until 15th of June) my around the World mission was capturing the landscapes mostly with my eyes and the music I enjoyed was the few Queen songs I knew the lyrics from. Now “Bohemian Rhapsody” can finally turn into “American woman” or “Born in the U.S.A.”, as I am nowhere else than in the united states of America!

 I arrived to the city of the fresh Stanley Cup winners the Boston Bruins, just before the crucial 7th game. And despite watching the game from TV together with few local “I don’t like Ice Hockey…I wish Canucks win”- hippies, the Bruins won, and the celebration parade will be held here tomorrow on Saturday the 18th.

But as the Bruins had to struggle for the NHL championship, also my way from Montreal to Boston wasn’t only a win after another. Coming to this side of Americas brought some unexpected obstacles.

1) The paving in Quebec and New England (the North-Eastern U.S.) has been only slightly better than in Romania, making it road-wise the second worst countries I’ve been into.

2) Mosquitoes and black flies made the beautiful northern Maine into a horrible Siberia, so I biked as fast as I could to get out of there.

3) Rain drops are falling on my head- song became true five days out of ten. I think I had five rainy days during my whole trip before this.

4) Fast food is cheap, but if you want to buy some healthy bread, cheese and vegetables from a supermarket, Northern America is the most expensive place so far.

But on the other hand, U.S. is the best place if,

1) you want to use couchsurfing (the pic on left is just one good example)

2) you like McDonald’s , SubWay, Burger King, Donkin Donuts, Pizza Hut or any other fast food restaurant (and I loooove fast food)

3) you need free wi-fi

4) You speak English

So overall it is great to be here. Finally I’m not annoyed by people who stop and talk to me, as I can talk back to them. There are plenty of nice rest areas for relaxing, which means nobody will dare to disturb your siesta while you are enjoying your Snickers or Pringles.

What also has been surprising to me, is how friendly US citizens have been so far. Many random people have smiled and greeted me, drivers given way (even more than in Europe  I think) and customer service is top class.

What happens next? Well, from Boston to New York it’s only 4-5 day ride, after which I’ll have a one month holiday of cycling. The reason for bicycle free -July will be my Finnish friends coming over to New York. High school friend’s road trip from New York to Los Angeles may sound silly, yet it will be exactly as silly as it sounds. Road 66, Cowboy boots, over sized stetsons, cheap motels, American Diners, Las Vegas gambling, Californian wine tasting, Grand Canyon and lots and lots of fast food eating will be something which happens in July.

But before that my dear readers, I’ll make a blog post about New York -the Big Apple.

ps.The color of my new mobile phone matches now to my tent, which by the way got a new fly here to Boston as well (the old yellow one was leaking, so I got a new green one against the warranty). With the new laptop I got earlier it feels almost like Christmas (the one you get good presents).

6 Comments

  1. virve
    Posted June 18, 2011 at 7:50 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hauskaa JUHANNUSTA, muista Suomen kesän huippu…ja vettä sattaa…t. Virve
    Hauskoja elämyshetkiä sinnekin suureen mualimaan…

    • Posted June 18, 2011 at 9:07 pm | Permalink | Reply

      hohoo, kiitos. Vuoden pisimpana paivana todnak. jo Nykissa. Samoin mukavaa jussia Etela-Suomeen!

  2. Bjorn
    Posted July 3, 2011 at 9:36 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Lukas, be careful with Las Vegas. I clearly recall a trip to Stockholm back in the 90’s. 😉

    Lead: PAF.

    Safe journey onwards, also by car.

  3. Janina
    Posted July 29, 2011 at 3:27 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Moi 🙂

    Ihan vaan fb:sta huomasin että tuon suuren koiran (Leonberginkoira) omistaja oli linkittänyt kuvan sinusta ja koirasta…
    Koira on myös syntynyt Suomessa 🙂 On meidän koiran veli 🙂
    Joten kuvassa on siis kaksi suomalaista 🙂

    • Posted August 1, 2011 at 9:11 am | Permalink | Reply

      Jep, tiedossa oli koiran suomalaisuus. Iltakello oli koiran nimi… valtava kuin mika.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

