Etappe 8

Etappe 8 (as you can see) started from Montreal, Quebec, and continued through Quebec City to the U.S.A.. There I visited seven states: Maine, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York and finally New Jersey.

After South America, Etappe 8 itself didn’t bring any big challenges. In matter of fact, I didn’t want them either. I was glad to cycle without efforts from city to city and couchsurf along the way. Couchsurfing was actually the reason why I managed to keep my budget so low (see stats), under 10e per day. Some of my hosts offered me even food, so I could afford some night outs as well.

At least seven rainy days, bad paving and huge amount of traffic lights were compensated with, good tourist infos, tail wind and few nice bike paths along the shores and railroads. Some locals warned me many time about the crazy traffic, but I guess they’ve never been cycling in in Asia or South America.

The next Etappe is still unknown, because I don’t know which way we’re going to take with my friends on our road trip. Most likely I’ll head towards Vancouver along the west coast. I’ve heard it’s beautiful, and time wise it would be probably the best option. In mid September I could fly  to Europe (Reykjavik, London, Amsterdam or Frankfurt), and then do the last Etappe back home to Finland. Just an idea.

One Comment

  1. Lauri Tammi
    Posted July 9, 2011 at 11:27 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Go Lukas! You rock man!!

    I respect you so much…! You won’t be the same when you (if you) come back! A deep respect! 🙂

    Keep it up man, I’ll send you energy there to your Etappe 8 and to all the adventures and people you meet there, you are a great example to many.

    Assarin iltapäiväsusi is missed…

    Greetings from Finland

    yours, Lauri
    tammi.finland@gmail.com

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

