In Europe…

I’ve started to write this post for three times. Each time I had to give up. Let’s try again…It’s ten o’clock in the evening, and I’m waiting for a ferry to Sweden. I’ve been in Europe almost two weeks now and I have one more week to go. Imagine, just one week. This doesn’t even feel like a World trip now… just a half month vacation to Germany.

Anyways, this is probably my last blog entry from the road. I guess it should be somehow pathetic, majestic, bigger than life spectacle. But it won’t be. Last two weeks have been a strange mixture of cycling and preparing my school semester in Finland. On top of traveling, I’ve tried to find an apartment, sign up for classes, plus arrange all kinds of small things which I already forgot that exists.
Cycling has been in tail wind, flat conditions and short distances. The only challenge has been rain and cycle path paving in Germany. Otherwise I’m sure even Stephen Hawking would’ve kept up with me, as I have couch surfed most of my nights along the way.
The last flight(s) (from San Diego via LAX to Dusseldorf) went ok, Air Berlin didn’t have the luxury, but we arrived on the right spot on time. For the last time I put Wooffie together and cycled 30km to a three star hotel I had booked to cure my jet lag. The following days I cycled distances like 50-100km, one day maybe even 130km. I visited Duisburg, Enschede in the Netherlands, Oldenburg, Bremerhaven and Flensburg. After Germany I crossed to Denmark and cycled to Aarhus to meet three of my Danish friends I met in South America. These two days in Aarhus were sunny and it felt like I caught the end of the summer just on time. Today it was again foggy as I continued to the ferry link to Sweden.
My spedometer shows 20 498km right now, 4000km less than it should be, yet satisfying amount of k:s. The original Schwalbe tyres are still working good and Rohloff ticks like a swiss clock ( I changed the oil just before breaking the twenty grand). Some problems did however occur. My left crank got loose even after tightening the screw, so I visited a bike mechanic in Flensburg. He told me, that the crank was worn out and should be changed. He gave me a used one for four euros but managed to tighten the old one so good, that it still works after 200km. Let’s see.
Other drawback was a crack in one of the MSR Hubba Hubba poles. But the tent still holds up and MSR promised to ship me a new piece for free. Other than this, my gear is working as it should. Knock Knock.
There is not much more to say. I just want to thank all the great people that hosted me last fourteen days, it has made this last etappe fun..

5 Comments

  1. Posted August 25, 2011 at 10:54 am | Permalink | Reply

    hello lukas,
    it’s good to hear that your rohloff-hub has been working swiss-made-like – actually it’s a nice piece of german engineering. 😉
    i envy you because of your 20 grand accomplishment while i just reached 6,000 k’s here in khorog/tajikistan heading for a 7,000 km stretch through china very soon.
    have a save trip back to your mothercountry and a warm welcome by all your beloved ones!
    cheers,
    herbert

  2. Kevin
    Posted August 27, 2011 at 10:07 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hey

    20,000 isn’t to shabby dude! I’ll miss reading your posts, it was a nice distraction!

  3. Posted September 1, 2011 at 4:30 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Tässä nettiversio juttutuokiostamme. Hyvää jatkoa!

  4. Posted September 1, 2011 at 4:31 pm | Permalink | Reply

    http://yle.fi/alueet/turku/2011/09/lukas_pyoraili_maailman_ympari_2836025.html

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

