Feelings

Some people have asked me how do I feel after traveling fourteen months around the World. Actually many use the sentence “cycled around the World”, but I must point out that cycling around the World has special rules. Potato potato, I decided to write some of the main thoughts I have after arriving back home.

First of all, even though I did travel (cycle) fourteen months abroad without “working” , I feel like I need some vacation. I long for laying on a sofa and watching comedy series from the telly. I long for playing on my acoustic guitar the whole day without feeling lazy. I long for those days, in which I can cook some food, go to sauna, visit the library and read a good book. I long for some free time, where I don’t need to think about proceeding anywhere.

I would also like to just sit down with  my laptop and arrange all the pics and videos I managed to capture. I would like to update my blog without any rush, write some stories and prepare few presentations. I want to relive my trip from my new home, and realize what I had actually done. I want to have some time to write to the people I met on the road and thank them for helping me out. I want to invite them to my house.

When I look around me, I feel like I traveled with a time machine. Nothing seems to have changed while I was gone. Of course there are changes in somebody’s hair cut and some buildings has been renovated, but everything is running the same speed as before. Right now though, I’m not able to keep up with the pace of the society.  I’m used to cycle, eat and sleep, but now there are infinite options to choose from. I can’t believe I managed to live in this hassle before.

I’m happy to be back in Finland, but I’m not happy to stop living the fulfilled life I had on the road. I wan’t to enjoy all the simple moments I experience here too, but it’s hard when people around me are so used to them. I sometimes feel a bit alone.

Despite all the loneliness, I really enjoy the things that were sometimes difficult to get like: rye bread, sauna,  beer, movie night, fresh air, fast internet, soft toilet paper, warm shower, volleyball,  electricity, salmiakki, tap water, kitchen, bed, jogging shoes and mosquito-free area.

People also ask me what was the best thing I saw or experienced. I will later on make a FAQ-post, but to this question I can answer right now. There wasn’t one single thing which I rank higher than the others. I like to think that the best moments were many, and together they make the whole trip the best thing.

I feel like I did an awesome trip and I don’t think it was the last one.

4 Comments

  1. Posted September 14, 2011 at 7:12 am | Permalink | Reply

    As you feel so, take that fucking free time to watch movies, play quitar, read books, prepare presentation etc….it is insane to do something against your “feels”….

    There is Sossu in Turku and university will stay there…

    You are not feeling lonely, you are just too tired to see and enjoy all the little things around. Give your body, mind and senses time to refresh from seeing so much in so little time.

    Get over tiredness, take time to digest your experiences and a moment will come by itself when you are ready to be brainwashed in a school again and you would enjoy it, if not totally more than now anyway…

    see you

    • Posted September 14, 2011 at 9:24 am | Permalink | Reply

      I know I know. Unfortunately the uni is something I know I don’t want to skip either. I know I will regret it if I take another “gap year” because that’s basically what I need to do, if I take holiday from everything right now.
      There are feelings and there is common sense. I’ve been always a man using both at the same time. It can be stressful, but it has been so far worth it.

      See you,

  2. Angela
    Posted March 28, 2012 at 6:30 am | Permalink | Reply

    Hi, Lukas, from Yerevan, Armenia! Just decided to check out your blog again and I really like this post. We think of you (and our other past Couchsurfers, especially the bikers) often and hope all is well with you. Congrats on all your accomplishments and good luck for your future goals. You are an inspiration!

    • Posted April 26, 2012 at 11:07 pm | Permalink | Reply

      It’s always nice to read these comments, thank you! I hope all the best to you too. Welcome to Finland!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

